La Feria News

Winner Take All

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final is set

By Ruben Rodriguez

After nearly a month of grueling tournament play, the 2023 Women’s World Cup Final is set as it will be an “All Euro” showdown. England will face off against Spain to decide who will be the champion of the ninth Women’s World Cup.

For Spain, their World Cup run can be summed up in one word: Dominance. Spain cruised all the way through their group stage, outscoring their opponents 12-0. Spain defeated Costa Rica 3-0, Zambia 5-0, and Japan 4-0. Their dominance continued throughout bracket play defeating Switzerland 5-1, Netherlands 2-1, and Sweden 2-1.

England also hand a strong run throughout the tournament. In group play, England defeated both Haiti and Denmark 1-0, then routed China 6-1. In bracket play, England outlasted Nigeria 4-3 in penalties, defeated Colombia 2-1, then survived against Host Australia 2-1.

Both teams look to capture their first World Cup and be the fifth different winner in Women’s World Cup History. The previous four winners have been the USA (4), Germany (2), Japan (1), and Norway (1).

Did you like this? Share it: