Home » News » Local » La Feria Voters Elect New Councilman

La Feria Voters Elect New Councilman

Juan “Johnny” Briones, Katie Johnson, Gloria Casas, and Lisa Ayala Montalvo won their bids for a place on the La Feria School Board. Photo: LFN Archive

by Tony Vindell/LFN

Devin Rey Martinez won his bid for City Commission Place 2. Photo: LFN Archive

Voters from La Feria have elected a new member to the city council and ousted one trustee from the local school board in the Nov. 6 election.

Devin Rey Martinez won a seat on the city council by getting 950 votes, while Alma Martinez Botello obtained 685 votes. The two ran for an unexpired term left by Eric Hoff who resigned from his seat in Place 2.

In the school district races:

Incumbent Lisa Ayala Montalvo ousted Anna Aleman by 1,492 votes to 1,169 votes in Place 4. Gloria Casas unseated Javier Loredo of Place 5, she garnered 1,208 votes against Loredo‘s 1,084 votes. Katie Johnson kept her seat in Place 6, getting 1,527 votes, while challenger Alfonzo Rodriguez picked up 1,131 votes.

Juan “Johnny” Briones, another incumbent, won reelection defeating Victor Gonzalez Jr. by 1,475 votes to 1,215 votes.

In other races, Cameron county Judge Eddie Treviño, a Democrat, won reelection to a four-year term, taking 45,967 votes, while Cartos Cascos, a Republican, received 31,163 votes, Filemon Vela, U.S. Rep won reelection in District 24. He faced Rey Gonzalez, a Republican.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbot defeated two opponents. They were Lupe Valdez, a Democrat, and Mark Jay Tippetts, an Independent.

U.S. Senator Ted Cruz, a Republican, won reelection. He faced two opponents: Beto O ‘Rourke, a Democrat, and Neal M. Dikeman, a Libertarian.

Did you like this? Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *