Home » News » Local » Election Day is This Saturday, May 4th

Election Day is This Saturday, May 4th

Get Out and Vote

by Tony Vindell/LFN

Election Day is this Saturday, May 4 so get out and vote.

Voters throughout Cameron County cast their ballots during early voting that ended April 30 and will have another chance on Election Day.

Eight cities in Cameron County, including here in La Feria are having an array of municipal races.

Mayor Olga H. Maldonado is being challenged by Ronaldo Ortiz so is Commissioner Place 1 Jesse Zuniga who faces Alma Martinez-Botello, while Devin Rey Martinez, commissioner in Place 2, is running unopposed.

The polls will open at 7 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m. Saturday.

In other county and city races:

Brownsville voters will cast their ballots in several city races but the most hotly contested one is between Mayor Tony Martinez who faces Trey Mendez and Charlie Cabler.

Harlingen Mayor Chris Boswell faces Miguel Angel Segura, and District 1 Commissioner Richard Uribe is being challenged by Juan J. Gonzalez and Isidro Marquez.

District 2 Commissioner Tudor Uhlhorn is being opposed by Frank Puente, Jr.
In the school races, Place 7 position. Incumbent Eladio Jaimez faces Adriana Garcia and Israel Aguilar for the seat in Place 7 and Greg Powers, who is the board president, is running unopposed in Place 3.
South Padre Island residents will also vote to elect a new mayor from a field of three candidates – Darla Jones, Clayton Brashear and Patrick McNulty.

In Port Isabel, City Commissioner Place 3 incumbent Martin Cantu faces Alycen Lacombe and City Commissioner Place 4 incumbent Jeffrey Martinez has three challengers – Rey Puente, Greg Ruiz and Darrell Mangham.

In a Rio Hondo special election, Place 1 City Commissioner Juan Garza faces Rick Tello, while Place 3 City Commissioner Margaret Perez and Place 5 Commissioner Joseph “Joe” Lopez are running unopposed.

In Palm Valley, voters will vote for incumbent Mayor George Rivera or for William Elmer. Other candidates are also running for seats on the city council.

In Lyford, Mayor Jose G. (Wally) Solis is challenged by Albert Cavazos and Commissioner Pablo Morales faces Avelardo Mireles.

In Raymondville, Mayor Gilbert Gonzalez faces Vanessa Tijerina, while Commissioner Yolanda Alexandre has two opponents, Joel Garcia and Erica Reyes-Rubalcaba. Commissioner Chris Lopez Tamez is running unopposed.

In the municipal court judge race, Judge Felicita Diaz Gutierrez faces Johnnie Falcon and Nicole Constante.

Did you like this? Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *