Home » News » Local » La Feria Mayor, Two Commissioners Reelected

La Feria Mayor, Two Commissioners Reelected

by Tony Vindell/LFN

Olga H. Maldonado. Photo: cityoflaferia.com

The three incumbents on La Feria City Council were re-elected in the Saturday, May 4th, election.

The voters kept Mayor Olga H. Maldonado and City Council member Jesse Zuniga. Devin Martinez, who ran unopposed, will also remain on the City Council.

Unofficial election results gave Maldonado 489 votes, while her opponent, Ronaldo Ortiz received 366 votes.

Councilman Jesse Zuniga garnered 486 votes while his challenger, Alma Martinez-Botello, picked up 365 votes.

Jesse Zuniga. Photo: cityoflaferia.com

Maldonado ran on her record in the last four years that she has been mayor.

“As mayor, I work closely with the city commissioners and our senior administrative team to address the needs and concerns of our community,” she said. “We continue to aggressively seek and apply for grants that will allow us to fix our roads and help improve our community’s overall quality of life.”

She said people have entrusted her to always be honest and transparent from the moment they voted for her.

Zuniga said he wanted to continue the progress they have done as far as getting the city out of the red and start working on infrastructure and redoing the streets.

He said La Feria has come a long way.

“We now have paid firefighters,” he said. “Our police department needs are also very important to me and I want to make sure they are taken care of.”

Devin Martinez. Courtesy photo

In other city races:

Brownsville voters will decide who will be the new city mayor as they ousted Tony Martinez.

Trey Mendez and Charlie Cabler took the most votes, respectively, and will face each other in a runoff election to be decided.

Harlingen Mayor Chris Boswell was re-elected, taking 1,937 votes while Miguel Angel Segura got 864 votes.

Frank Puente Jr. defeated District 2 Commissioner Tudor Uhlhorn by 298-to-263 votes.

South Padre Island residents voted to elect a new mayor from a field of three candidates – Darla Jones, Clayton Brashear and Patrick McNulty.

Jones and .McNulty are also heading to a runoff.

In Palm Valley, voters will vote for incumbent Mayor George Rivera or for William Elmer. Other candidates are also running for seats on the city council.

In Lyford, Mayor Jose G. (Wally) Solis was re-elected with 200 votes while his challenger, Albert Cavazos, picked up 183 votes.

In Raymondville, Mayor Gilbert Gonzalez won a second term. He received 1,228 votes against Vanessa Tijerina’s 519 votes.

Did you like this? Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *