La Feria News

All-Star Fever

2022 MLB All-Star Game Rosters, Home Run Derby Participants Announced

By Ruben Rodriguez
La Feria News

As we wind down the first half of the 2022 MLB Season, The All Star Game starts to come into mind. A few days shy of the 92nd midsummer classic, the rosters for the American League and National League have been announced. With the 2022 All Star Game taking place at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, the starters will definitely put on a blockbuster show.

Representing the American League will be the following starters: Catcher Alejandro Kirk of the Toronto Blue Jays, First Baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr of the Toronto Blue Jays. Houston Astros’ second baseman Jose Altuve. Third Baseman Rafael Devers of the Boston Red Sox, Tim Anderson of the Chicago White Sox will be the starting shortstop. The AL Outfield will be New York Yankees Aaron Judge and Giancarlo Stanton, and Los Angeles Angel Mike Trout. Shohei Ohtani will be the Designated hitter for the AL.

Reserves for the American League will be Corpus Christi Native and New York Yankee Jose Trevino, Luis Arraez, Byron Buxton of the Minnesota Twins. Toronto’s George Springer, Cleveland’s Jose Ramirez and Andres Gimenez. Houston’s Kyle Tucker, Kansas City’s Andrew Benintendi, and Boston’s Xander Bogaerts and J.D. Martinez.

The AL Pitching Rotation will be Shane Mclanahan, Nestor Cortes, Alek Manoah, Framber Valdez, Martin Perez, Paul Blackburn, Justin Verlander, Gerrit Cole, Shohei Ohtani, Clay Holmes, Emmanuel Clase, Gregory Soto and Jorge Lopez.

For the National League, the starting nine will be Chicago’s Wilson Contreras at catcher. Paul Goldschmidt of St. Louis at first base. Miami’s Jazz Chislom Jr at second base. San Diego’s Manny Machado at third base, and LA Dodger Trea Turner at Shortstop. The NL Outfield will be Atlanta’s Ronald Acuna Jr, LA’s Mookie Betts and San Francisco’s Joc Pederson.

The National League Reserves will be Travis d’Arnaud, Nolan Arenado, Pete Alonso, Jeff McNeil, CJ Cron, Dansby Swanson, Kyle Schwarber, Juan Soto, Starling Marte, Ian Happ, William Contreras, and Garrett Cooper.

The National League Pitching Rotation will be Clayton Kershaw, Sandy Alcantara, Corbin Burnes, Luis Castillo, Max Fried, Tony Gonsolin, Joe Musgrove, Edwin Diaz, Ryan Helsley, David Bednar, Joe Mantiply and Carlos Rodon, will be in to replace Josh Hader.

To cap off the excitement will be the Home Run Derby as five participants in the eight man field have been announced. Atlanta’s Ronald Acuna Jr. 2019 Champion Pete Alonso of the New York Mets, St. Louis’ Albert Pujols will be in his fifth and final derby, Juan Soto of Washington, and Kyle Scharber of Philadelphia will compete in this year’s derby.

Truly what will be a star-studded week to gear everyone up for the second half of what has already been an exciting season. The stars of the MLB will shine bright in Hollywood this week indeed.

Did you like this? Share it: